Day 19: Dawlish to Dartmouth

After enjoying the sights of Dawlish Warren (think every stereotype of the British seaside town!) with Andy, Kitty and little Finn who visited us last night and then a good night’s rest in our mini little tents again, Pa and I set off along the beautiful South Devon coast bright and early this morning. 

Sadly the rumours of terrible hills in Devon seem to be true and I slogged my way up them whilst Pa chatted away happily behind me on his electric bike! I hadn’t realised that the sweat would actually run down the inside of my sunglasses lenses until today…lovely! Some of the (perhaps tourist?) drivers around here are appalling when it comes to overtaking cyclists too, which made me feel genuinely unsafe for the first time on my ride.

An awesome downhill whizz led me to cross the Dart on the Higher ferry into Dartmouth and a large family gathering greeting me in the Avenue Gardens for my welcoming committee! 

 

My fab 60p ferry ride!
Waiting for the battery to charge up after a push start this morning!     
    
    
This morning’s view with our coffee and cake

    
 

This is my “happy face” – it’s finally flat (briefly!)
   
    
Beautiful Dartmouth

   

Leave a comment