Day 23: St Ives to Land’s End

In thick fog I set off with my cousin Ben for the last part of my journey. It felt kind of strange that this was in fact the end of a long journey. Despite feeling very tired, I also felt strangely buoyed, that this ridiculous challenge might, in fact, be achievable. 

The terrain does not take any prisoners however, and we slogged up and down the steepest of Cornish hills (which are steep!) right until the very end! I found some last reserves of energy from somewhere, perhaps through the realisation that I really had run out of land to pedal across! 

I especially enjoyed the green tunnel effect of the smallest lanes and the fog blowing through the thick coastal forest, which really reminded me in parts of Vancouver Island. We also both strongly felt the “end of the earth” feeling of pedalling through such a sparsely populated area, with the sea on two sides at times. 

40km with 565m climbing and an average speed of over 10km/hr for the first time in weeks!

We were met at the finish line by all my family who live in Dartmouth and Pa and Linda, which gave a really nice sense of occasion to he finish, complete with finish rope, prosecco, cheering, clapping and of course, many, many photographs!

   
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 

2 thoughts on “Day 23: St Ives to Land’s End

Leave a comment