Day 22: Probus to St Ives

Rain. Rain. Rain. And more rain. Which obviously dried up when we stopped riding! So exasperating.

After a morning accordion concert from Nigel the guesthouse owner in Probus, Ben and I set off from Probus into Truro to meet Pa and Linda. Pa then joined us for a little while but his electric bike was playing up so he had to turn back, I think it was the appalling rain that put him off really!

We continued slogging up hills in the rain (whilst I questioned my sanity!) until we reached Bisoe for a cake and drink stop at a cycle cafe where Ben had an impulse purchase of a shiny new cycle coat! It was really bad weather! 

After that it was much flatter (thank goodness!) on properly separate bike paths through old tin mine works to Redruth and then Camborne for lunch in a cute little cafe.

We then carried on with cycle route 3 to Hayle to meet everyone for icecream at Mr B’s ice cream parlour. After the ice cream stop my legs (and motivation) had mostly seized up and the last 8km turned into a bit of a slog…we also went a rather scenic way around and there were yet more hills! 

After quickly pitching my tent at the campsite up yet a massive hill, we nipped into St Ives for veggie burgers & chips (and fish for those who eat it) and another ice cream. I managed to devour about two entire portions of chips I was so hungry and everyone felt sorry for me they had a whip-round for the second portions!

I am very much looking toward to the finish now… legs are burning on anything steeper than totally flat, the crick in my neck is back and the palms of my hands are killing me. 

63km and 877m climbing 

   
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 

One thought on “Day 22: Probus to St Ives

Leave a comment